District Child Protection Unit (DCPU)

Last Updated on: February 08, 2024

District Child Protection Unit (DCPU) is a fundamental unit for the implementation of the Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection) Act and erstwhile Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) presently Mission Vatsalya in the district. “DCPU” under Section 2 (26) JJ Act, 2015 means a Child Protection Unit for a District, established by the State Government under Section 106, which shall function under supervision of District Magistrate (DM) to ensure the implementation of this Act and other child protection measures in the district. It is responsible for coordinating and implementing all child rights and protection activities other services includes Adoption, Sponsorship, Foster Care, and After Care services at the district level. There are four Children Home registered under JJ Act, 2015 and one Specialised Adoption Agency (SAA) under supervision of DCPU. The DCPU functions under overall administrative control and supervision of the DM of the concerned district, who is also the chairperson of District Child Protection Committee (DCPC). The District Child Protection Officer (DCPO) is the nodal person in the DCPU. Other key functionaries include the Protection Officer (Institutional Care), Protection Officer (Non-Institutional Care), Legal cum Probation Officer, Social Workers, Counsellors and Outreach Workers. Under the DCPU are child protection committees at the local levels: a) Block Level Child Protection Committee (BLCPC) and b) Village Level Child Protection Committee (VLCPC) c) Ward Level Child Protection Committee (WLCPC). It is responsible for recommending and monitoring the implementation of child protection services at village level, block level and ward level. There is one Child Welfare Committee which looks into the matter related to Child in Need of Care and Protection (CNCP) in the district. one Juvenile Justice Board is there in the district which deals with the Children in Conflict with Law (CICL). The District Child Protection Unit monitors these two bodies functioning in the district.  

Address of the Office

Office of the District Child Protection Officer, Chirang

Kajalgaon, Near Assam Gramin Vikash Bank

PO& PS-Kajalgaon, Dist-Chirang

Composition of the Office

1. District Child Protection Officer

2. Protection Officer, Institutional Care

3. Protection Officer, Non Institutional Care

4. Legal cum Probation Officer (Vacant)

5. Counsellor

6. Accountant

7. Data Analyst

8. Social Worker (Male)(Vacant)

9. Social Worker (Female)

10. Out Reach Worker (Male)

11. Out Reach Worker (Female) (Vacant)

12. Data Entry Operator cum Assistant (CWC)

13.  Data Entry Operator cum Assistant (JJB) (Vacant)

14. Data Entry Operator cum Assistant (DCPU)

15. Messenger

Composition of Child Welfare Committee

one (1) Chairperson , Four (4) Members. Out of which one must be a female. (One member vacant)

Composition of Juvenile Justice Board

One Principal Magistrate and two members. Out of which one must be a female. (One member vacant)