Women and Child Development

Last Updated on: December 21, 2022

District Child Protection Unit (DCPU) is a fundamental unit for the implementation of the Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection) Act and erstwhile Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS) presently Mission Vatsalya in the district. “DCPU” under Section 2 (26) JJ Act, 2015 means a Child Protection Unit for a District, established by the State Government under Section 106, which shall function under supervision of District Magistrate (DM) to ensure the implementation of this Act and other child protection measures in the district. It is responsible for coordinating and implementing all child rights and protection activities other services includes Adoption, Sponsorship, Foster Care, and After Care services at the district level. There are four Children Home registered under JJ Act, 2015 and one Specialised Adoption Agency (SAA) under supervision of DCPU. The DCPU functions under overall administrative control and supervision of the DM of the concerned district, who is also the chairperson of District Child Protection Committee (DCPC). The District Child Protection Officer (DCPO) cum Child Marriage Prohibition Officer (CMPO) is the nodal person in the DCPU. Other key functionaries include the Protection Officer (Institutional Care), Protection Officer (Non-Institutional Care), Legal cum Probation Officer, Social Workers, Counsellors and Outreach Workers. Under the DCPU are child protection committees at the local levels: a) Block Level Child Protection Committee (BLCPC) and b) Village Level Child Protection Committee (VLCPC) c) Ward Level Child Protection Committee (WLCPC). It is responsible for recommending and monitoring the implementation of child protection services at village level, block level and ward level.